Associated Chapels: (None known).
OS Ref: NH 5601350 RCAHMS No: NH53SE
The parish of Dores is also known as Durris or Durrys. The Bishop of Moray gave the parish church to Pluscarden Priory in 1233 at the request of King Alexabder II., who was then the patron. The parish was served by a vicar.
The present church was built in 1828 and has no unique points of interest.
Chiefs of the Clan MacLennan have been buried here.
The present church looking
west to the shores of Loch Ness.
|Memorial of a Chief of MacLennan.|
Return to top of page
© 2005 Cushnie Enterprises