The following is a list of the major medieval "Roman" monastic and religious foundations in Scotland. Some, of course, were previously Culdee/Celtic/Pictish foundations of much earlier date.

Information last updated on: 05 July 2011
  Order. Founded. Dedication. Founder. Mother House.
Dunfermline Priory Benedictine 1068

Holy Trinity

King David I  
Coldingham Benedictine 1098 St Mary, Ebba & Cuthbert King Edgar Durham
Selkirk (Trans to Kelso) Tironensian 1113 Ss Mary & John Earl David Tiron
Scone Augustinian 1120 Holy Trinity, B.V.M. Ss Laurence, Augustine & Michael King Alexander I Nostell
Loch Tay Priory (Eilean Aidan) Augustinian 1122 St Mary King Alexander I Scone
Inchcolm Augustinian 1123 St Columba King Alexander I  
Urquhart Priory Benedictine 1124 Holy Trinity King David I Dunfermline
Kelso (first at Selkirk) Tironensian 1126 Ss Mary & John King David I Tiron
Dunfermline Abbey Benedictine 1128 Holy Trinity Queen Margaret  
Holyrood Augustinian 1128 Ss Mary, Andrew & All Saints King David I Merton
Melrose Cistercian 1136 St Mary King David I Rivaulx/Holmcultram
Jedburgh Augustinian 1138 St Mary King David I Beauvais
Monymusk Priory Augustinian 1138 St Mary & John    
Eynhallow Cistercian 1140      
Newbattle Cistercian 1140 St Mary King David I Melrose
Tongland Premonstratensian 1140s   Fergus of Galloway Cockersand
Dundrennan Cistercian 1142 St Mary King David I and Fergus, Lord of Galloway Rivaulx
Lesmahagow Priory Tironensian 1144 Ss Mary & Machutus King David I Kelso
St Andrews Augustinian 1144   Bishop of St Andrews Scone
Cambuskenneth Augustinian 1147 St Mary King David I Arrouaise
Dryburgh Premonstratensian 1150 St Mary Hugh de Moreville Alnwick
Kinloss Cistercian 1150 B.V.M. King David I Melrose
Loch Leven Augustinian 1150 St Serf    
Saddell Cistercian 1150 St Mary Reginald son of Somerled  
Soulseat Premonstratensian 1152 Ss Mary + John Fergus de Galloway Premontre
Isle of May Benedictine 1153 Ss Oran + Colman King David I Reading
Restenneth Augustinian 1153 St Peter    
Coupar Angus Cistercian 1162 B.V.M. King Malcolm IV Melrose
Kilwinning Tironensian 1162 St Mary Richard de Moreville Kelso
Renfrew Cluniac 1163 Ss Mary & James   Wanlock
Mauchline Priory Cistercian 1165 St Cuthbert King David I Melrose
Paisley Cluniac 1169 Ss Mary, James, Milburga & Mirran Walter Stewart Wenlock
Whithorn Premonstratensian 1175   Fergus of Galloway Soulseat
Arbroath Tironensian 1178 St Thomas of Canterbury William the Lion Kelso
Glenluce Cistercian 1190 St Mary Rothland de Galloway, Constable of Scotland Melrose
Lindores Tironensian 1191 Our Lady + St Andrew David, Earl of Huntingdon Kelso
Inchaffray Augustinian 1200 Ss John Evangelist & Mary Gilbert, Earl of Strathearn Scone
Iona Benedictine 1203 St Mary Reginald, Lord of the Isles  
Aberdeen Trinitarian 1211 Holy Trinity William the Lion  
Berwick Trinitarian 1214 Holy Trinity William the Lion  
Culross Cistercian 1217 Ss Mary, Andrew & Serf Malcolm, Earl of Fife Kinloss
Dunbar Trinitarian 1218 Holy Trinity Patrick, Earl of Dunbar  
Deer Cistercian 1219 St Mary William, Earl of Buchan Kinloss
Paisley Abbey Cluniac 1219 Ss Mary, James, Merin & Melburga   Cluny
Holywood Premonstratensian 1220s St Mary Dercongal, Lord of Kirconnel Soulseat
Tongland Premonstratensian 1220s   Fergus of Galloway  
Houston Trinitarian 1226 Holy Trinity John Graham, Lord Tarbolton  
Fearn Premonstratensian 1227 Ss Mary & Ninian Ferquhard, Earl of Ross  
Balmerino Cistercian 1227 Ss Mary & Edward King Alexander II Melrose
Ardchattan Priory Valliscaulian 1230 St John Baptist Duncan Mackowle Val des Choux
Beauly Priory Valliscaulian 1230 B.V.M. & St John Baptist Sir John Byset Val des Choux
Pluscarden Priory Valliscaulian 1230 St Andrew King Alexander II Val des Choux
Ayr Friary Dominican 1230 St Catharine King & William Malvoisin  
Berwick Friary Dominican 1230   King Alexander II  
Edinburgh Friary Dominican 1230   King Alexander II  
Montrose Friary Dominican 1230   Allan Durward  
Inchmahome Augustinian 1238 Ss Mary & Colmoc Earl of Menteith  
Crossraguel Cluniac 1244 St Mary Duncan, Earl of Carrick Paisley
Scotlandwell Trinitarian 1250   William Malvoisin, Bp StA  
Failford Trinitarian 1252   David de Bernham  
Fogo Tironensian 1253 St Nicholas Patrick Corbet Kelso
Brechin Trinitarian 1260      
Peebles Trinitarian 1261 Holy Trinity King Alexander III  
Tullilum Carmelite 1262   Richard, Bp St Andrews  
Dunbar Carmelite 1263   Patrick, 7th Earl of Dunbar  
Dornoch Trinitarian 1271      
Cromarty Trinitarian c1271      
Abernethy Priory Augustinian 1273 SS Mary + Bridget + Abrinca   Inchaffray
Sweetheart Cistercian 1273 St Mary Devorgilla, daughter of Allan de Galloway Dundrennan
Dundee Trinitarian 1283      
Fyvie (Reverted to Arbroath Ab in 1507) Tironensian 1285 St Mary & All Saints Reginald le Chen Kelso
Linlithgow Carmelite 1290   Burgesses  
Berwick-on-Tweed Carmelite 1296      
St Fillans Priory Augustinian 1318 St Fillan Robert the Bruce Inchaffray
Banff Carmelite 1324   King Robert the Bruce  
South Queensferry Carmelite 1330   Laird of Dundas  
Oronsay Priory Augustinian 1330 St Oran    
Aberdeen Carmelite 1350   Philip de Arbuthnott  
Dundonald Carmelite 1412   Laird of Fullarton  
Edinburgh Carmelite 1526   Provost & Baillies.  
Blantyre Augustinian        
Canonbie Augustinian        
Luffness Carmelite        
Bervie Carmelite        


Return to top of page

e-mail: cushnieent@gmail.com

2005  Cushnie Enterprises